The Irish Congress of Trade Unions among 12 leaders chosen to drive forward Sustainable Development Goals.

18 Sep 2019

david SDG

The Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment Richard Bruton T.D. has appointed 12 chosen champions, organisations including ICTU, who are leading by example in achieving 17 Sustainable Development Goals. He made the announcement at the Ploughing Championships in Fenagh, Co. Carlow.

The 12 champions will raise public awareness of the goals, and illustrate practical ways in which organisations and individuals can contribute to achieving the goals. 

ICTU’s four Sustainable Development Goals are:
Goal 1.End Poverty in all forms everywhere,
Goal 8.Promote inclusive and sustainable economic growth, employment and decent work for all
Goal 10.Reduce inequality in and among countries
Goal 16.Promote just peaceful and inclusive societies

You can read more in the Congress SDG champion leaflet here

Minister Bruton said the 17 Sustainable Development Goals are an ambitious set of targets, covering the social, economic and environmental requirements for a sustainable future. They cover policy areas such as poverty eradication, economic development, protection of the environment, access to health and education services, gender equality, peaceful societies and human rights.

David Joyce, International Development Officer ICTU said, Congress is looking forward to participating in the SDG Champions programme and demonstrating the important role that trade unions have to play in achieving the SDG’s. He pointed out that “progress is far too slow on meeting SDG targets in that 70% of the World’s population has no access to social protection, 300 million workers in emerging and developing countries earn less than 1.9 dollars a day; and 81% of all countries in the world have violated the right to collective bargaining".

Minister Bruton said, "We need to take actions in a broad range of policy areas to put us on a more sustainable pathway. The Sustainable Development Goals draw those together in an integrated way. Achieving them will be a challenge. We need everyone to get involved and play their part in whatever way they can.

The Champions chosen here today will be beacons of best practice for the coming year. They will lead the way with practical examples of how we can all contribute."

The 2019/2020 Champions are:

  • An Post
  • Bord Iascaigh Mhara
  • Carlow County Council
  • ECO Unesco
  • The GAA
  • Irish Congress of Trade Unions
  • Irish Men's Sheds
  • Musgrave
  • National Women's Council of Ireland
  • Smart Farming
  • Union of Students of Ireland
  • Vodafone